SA Government appoints new Eskom Board to restore governance

South Africa’s Deputy President, Cyril Ramaphosa, has announced the appointment of new Eskom board members, as an immediate measure to strengthen governance and management at the state-owned power utility.

In addition, Ramaphosa directed the board to appoint a permanent Group Chief Executive and Group Chief Financial Officer within the next three months, reports ESI-Africa.

The new board will consist of Jabu Mabuza as Chairperson, Sifiso Dabengwa, Sindi Mabaso-Koyana, Mark Lamberti, Professor Tshepo Mongalo, Professor Malegapuru Makgoba, Busisiwe Mavuso, Nelisiwe Magubane, Dr. Rod Crompton, George Sebulela, Dr. Pulane Molokwane, Dr. Banothile Makhubela and Jacky Molisane.

The government statement also directed that the board immediately remove all Eskom executives who are facing allegations of serious corruption and other acts of impropriety.

The Eskom board is in the process of identifying a suitable candidate to fill up the position of Group CEO.

Source: ESI-Africa