Image source: FirstEnergy

Key management changes as part of FirstEnergy succession planning strategy

USA, Ohio, Akron: On 19 May, FirstEnergy Corp. announced a series of management changes that supports the company’s succession planning process, broadens the experience of key executives, and further positions the company for long-term, customer-focused growth.

All changes will be effective on 24 May, 2020.

Steven E. Strah has been elected by the Board of Directors to serve as president, FirstEnergy Corp. Strah will continue reporting to Charles E. Jones, who has been FirstEnergy’s president, chief executive officer and member of the board since 2015. Jones will continue to serve as CEO and a member of the board.

“Steve is a strategic and driven leader with a deep understanding of FirstEnergy’s business and the needs of our customers, employees and investors,” Jones said. “He is committed to driving our long-term, customer-focused growth plans as well as our mission to be a forward-thinking electric utility, and I look forward to working with him in his new role.”

As president, Strah will oversee FirstEnergy Utilities; Corporate Services and Information Technology; Finance; Product Development, Marketing and Branding; External Affairs; Rates and Regulatory Affairs; and Strategy.

K. Jon Taylor has been elected senior vice president and chief financial officer, reporting to Strah. As CFO, Taylor will oversee Accounting, Treasury and Investor Relations.

The company also announced that Robert P. Reffner has been elected senior vice president and chief legal officer, reporting to Jones. Reffner will continue to lead the Corporate, Legal, Information & Compliance and Real Estate departments and will now oversee Risk & Internal Auditing. He will also oversee efforts to develop the Innovation Center, a new venture that will apply data analytics, technologies and creative problem-solving to accelerate innovation within FirstEnergy.

Ebony L. Yeboah-Amankwah was elected vice president, general counsel and chief ethics officer, reporting to Reffner.

Mary M. Swann has been elected Corporate Secretary, reporting to Yeboah-Amankwah.

In FirstEnergy’s Utility operations, John Skory has been named vice president, Utility Operations. He will report to Samuel L. Belcher, senior vice president and president, FirstEnergy Utilities.

Gary W. Grant, Jr. becomes president, Ohio Operations, reporting to Skory.

Michelle R. Henry has been named vice president, Customer Service, reporting to Belcher.

James H. Myers III has been named president, West Virginia Operations.  Myers will take over for Holly C. Kauffman, who is retiring after 36 years of service to the company, and eight years as president of West Virginia Operations.

FirstEnergy is dedicated to safety, reliability and operational excellence. Its 10 electric distribution companies form one of the nation’s largest investor-owned electric systems, serving customers in Ohio, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, West Virginia, Maryland and New York. The company’s transmission subsidiaries operate more than 40,000 km (24,500 mi) of transmission lines that connect the Midwest and Mid-Atlantic regions.


Source: FirstEnergy